Playing with future

“My daughter will become a doctor. Won’t you sweetheart?”

“Yes, Daddy!” replied the six year old Sarah, ever ready to please her dad.

10 years later

“I talked to someone who’s in med school and he said that you have to pass a test to get in. And it’s extremely difficult.”

“You’ll do it. I’m going to be so proud when you become a doctor.”

11 years later

“I’m freaking out dad! This test is unlike any other. It isn’t just the studying that’s difficult, it’s the pressure too. Some girls lost it when they couldn’t get admission.”

“Hey, hey. Don’t worry. You won’t be one of those girls. You’ve always done great. Just continue with the hard work. And you know what! None of my friends’ children are doctors.”

12 years later

“I can’t do it dad. I can’t pass the test! I’m at breaking point and, if I continue, I will break!”

“You can and you will do it! We’ve been talking about this since you weren’t even born.”

Few days later

“I’m sorry sweetheart. I’m so sorry! I don’t want a doctor, I want you.”

There was no reply.